Management board

Professor Jeremy Chapman AC – Chair

Clinical Director of Medicine and Cancer, Westmead Hospital and Director of Western Renal Services. Deputy Chair Western Sydney Local Health District Board.

Jeremy has been involved with the Tissue Typing Laboratories and the Australian Organ Donation program for the past thirty years. He chaired the creation of the Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry from 1991 onwards.

Jeremy’s current interests involve research and teaching at the University of Sydney. He is Editor in Chief of the journals Transplantation and Transplantation Direct.

Associate Professor Peter Bardy

Associate Professor Peter Bardy trained in Clinical, Laboratory and Research Haematology at the IMVS (1987) and subsequently the Vancouver General Hospital and Terry Fox Laboratories in Vancouver Canada from 1992-1995.  His first consultant position was as a Clinical Haematologist in the Leukaemia and Bone Marrow Transplantation service at the Royal Melbourne Hospital from 1995 to 1997.  Since returning to Adelaide in 1997 he has held positions at ARCBS (Medical Consultant to the Tissue Typing Service) and clinical positions at both the RAH (as a member of the Leukaemia and BMT service) and TQEH (as Head of Clinical and Laboratory Haematology since 2002).  Since 2005 he has held leadership roles in the Public Health sector including; Medical Head of the Division of Medicine at TQEH (2006-2008), Chief Medical Officer in the Central Northern Adelaide Health Service (August 2008- July 2010), Chair of the South Australian Clinical Senate (2010 and 2011), Interim Clinical Director Cancer Centre Royal Adelaide Hospital since October 2010 and appointed Clinical Director of Cancer Services in Central Adelaide Local Health Network (CALHN) from 1st November 2012.  He also Chairs the State Blood Management Council. His predominant area of clinical expertise is in malignant haematology and bone marrow transplantation.

Brian Farmer

Brian is a bone marrow donor (donating in 1993) and was a member of the ABMDR’s Ethics Committee. Brian is an engineer by training and a project manager by profession. He is a Churchill Fellow, has been Chairman of the Sydney University International House Council and Chairman of Standards Australia’s Contracts Committee which produced the AS2124/AS4000 suites of contracts. He is a past Managing Director of Capital Insight Pty Ltd.

Sally Gordon

Sally Gordon worked for the Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry (ABMDR) since its inception in 1991. Prior to this, her role was in solid organ donation as one of the state donor coordinators for NSW. Whilst at the ABMDR, she was seconded part time to the NSW Department of Health on a project to investigate the possibility of a NSW tissue banking service. Sally has recently retired from her position as Executive Officer of the ABMDR.

Anthony Montague

Anthony Montague is the National Executive Officer of the ABMDR. Previously, he was the National Cord Blood Network Operations Manager, a role he held for eight years. Anthony’s original training is in engineering, and he has 25 years’ experience in development, quality systems, project management and business management. In the last ten years he has directed his attention to healthcare management, in particular to bone marrow transplantation and the systems for delivering health information. His qualifications include an engineering degree, an MBA and a Master of Public Health.

John Roach PSM

John has had over 41 years of experience working within the NSW Public Service. Throughout his career his interest has been in improving financial management at an operational and executive level and developing commercially focused approaches to the delivery of corporate services and public infrastructure.

John has held senior financial positions across NSW Government in transport agencies and as Financial Controller of the 2000 Olympic Coordination Authority.  Most recently, John held the position as Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Secretary, Financial Services and Asset Management for NSW Health before his retirement in 2018.

Along with his appointment to the ABMDR Management Board, John’s other governance roles including Chair, HealthShare NSW, and board member of Health Infrastructure NSW.

Professor Jeff Szer AM

Jeff was the foundation Professor/Director of the Department of Clinical Haematology & Bone marrow Transplant Service of the Royal Melbourne Hospital until August 2016 when the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre integration with Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Haematology service was completed. He continues as a Disease Group Lead in the Parkville Integrated Haematology Service and with his appointment in the University of Melbourne Department of Medicine.

He was the foundation President of the Bone Marrow Transplant Society of Australia and New Zealand and remains a member of the steering committee of the Australasian Bone Marrow Transplant Recipient Registry. He is currently President of the Worldwide Network for Blood and Marrow Transplantation and Chair of the Medical Working Committee and President-Elect of the World Marrow Donor Association. He is a member of the Advisory Committee of the Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplantation.

Jeff is Editor in Chief of the Internal Medicine Journal and a member of editorial boards of Bone Marrow Transplantation, Blood Reviews and BioMed Central. He has published more than 300 papers in the field of marrow transplantation and blood disorders.

Leonie Walsh

In addition to Leonie ‘s role as Non-Executive Director on the ABMDR, Leonie is the President and Chairman of the Fight Cancer Foundation, on the Board uand Co-Chair of the Patient Advisory and Advocacy  Committee for the World Network of Blood and Marrow Transplantation.

Leonie Walsh is an experienced leader and adviser in technological innovation with a background that spans more than 30 years of experience both locally and internationally across a diverse range of industries and applications. Leonie continues to focus on strategic science and technology issues including innovation efficiency, technology commercialization, the future skilled workforce and women in science through a range of related boards, advisory and advocacy activities.

More recently Leonie completed a three-year term as Victoria’s inaugural Lead Scientist. In this capacity Leonie was a contributing member on the Future Industries Ministerial Advisory Council, provided contributions to the Education State activities and STEM plan via the Tech Schools STEM Future Industries Advisory Panel and the STEM advisory committee, represented Victoria on the Forum of Australian Chief Scientists and participated on a range of advisory committees and funding assessment panels spanning innovation, education and advanced manufacturing.

Leonie Walsh has received a BSc and an MSc from Swinburne University, an MBA (Exec) from the Australian Graduate School of Management and is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. In 2014 Leonie received an Honorary Doctorate (HonDUniv) from Swinburne University of Technology for contributions and leadership in scientific enterprises, innovation and the community.

Greg Wilkie

Greg Wilkie is the Executive Director of Manufacturing and Quality at the Australian Red Cross Blood Service. Greg has experience leading operational teams, as well as establishing the National Contact Centre in Adelaide and, more recently, driving a lean continuous improvement culture in Manufacturing.

Prior to joining the Blood Service, Greg was predominantly in business improvement and customer service operations within the logistics, transport and energy industries, including the role of Transfers Operations Manager at AGL Energy and various leadership roles with the Royal Mail in the UK.